Only the big picture matters

Yesterday, I got to see the most recent big screen-craze in France with two of my classmates. Intouchables is my very first full-length film in French with absolutely no subtitles. Despite the fact that I didn’t understand more than 70% of the dialogues, the movie managed to keep me awake and more importantly entertained. This was a quite a feat because I don’t find it difficult to sleep while watching even bigger Hollywood releases let alone a movie in a language that I don’t fully speak and understand. Yes, I didn’t get the punchlines yet I laugh when people laugh not because I was just pretending not to look stupid (except possibly on two occasions). I was moved liked everyone else and at the end, I clapped to pay respect for such a wonderful piece of work. As I told my classmates in French, “La marque d’un bon film, la langue n’est pas une barrière” (The mark of a good film, language is not a barrier).

This was my realization after. Like so many things in life, we don’t really have to worry about all the details. You don’t need 100% of the information to understand things around you. Most of the time, the more we know about things or the more things we have, we become more paranoid, restless and discontented. It’s easy to get lost. It’s easy to become unhappy. This movie reinforced that I only need my eyes to see, my ears to hear and my heart to feel what matters. Understanding the dialogue wasn’t that necessary. I have no doubt that it would have been even funnier if I knew what the punchlines meant. But how much difference would it make? Who knows? I was already happy and I only needed the essentials to feel that and that’s enough. Oftentimes, that’s how life is. The big picture is all that matters.

––

P.S. This is not meant to be a review so I will not give you any information about the film. Last time I read, it will be released worldwide. I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did. Lucky you, the version you’re going to see will be subtitled.

Leave a Reply

