The Grand Slam Dream

I haven’t been following tennis like I used to but still one thing that I want to experience is to catch all of the four Grand Slam finals live. I’m happy that I’m just three more finals away from reaching this goal but I know this will be hard to achieve considering the expenses and the logistics required for these highly popular matches.

In summer of 2009, when I first came to France for a business trip, I was lucky enough to be staying there for a month at the same time that the French Open was being held. I was able to secure tickets but only for some doubles games since the finals were just too expensive for me to afford back then. I promised myself that it wouldn’t be my last in Roland Garros. True enough, since I am living in France, I was able to get tickets not just to one game but to both men’s and women’s finals for the 2012 French Open.

I was so excited to be finally on Court Philip Chatrier, with the red-orange clay filling my vision, cheering with other fans from France and all over the world. Seeing Maria Sharapova play and win her first trophy here, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic battling it out in an epic 2-day final (and I had to leave work that Monday afternoon because of the continuation) – it was an unforgettable experience for me!

So, three more finals to go and it would be a personal “sports” victory for me! This is the closest feeling to being a tennis superstar trying to chase his next Grand Slam trophy.

Here are some photos from those three memorable days:

Roland Garros - Rain and Umbrella Errani On the floor Maria Fly Maria Maria and baby Novak frustrated Rafa knees Novak & Rafa hug it out Rafa trophy Rafa autograph

Leave a Reply

